Ford School Committee

Weill Hall


The Committee for the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy provides the school with volunteer leadership. Committee members serve the Ford School by:

  • Assisting in fundraising
  • Providing links to policymakers and policymaking arenas
  • Providing counsel on education in public policy

Committee members are drawn from both the public and private sectors and include University of Michigan graduates and as well as others with an interest in public policy issues and education.

The primary responsibility of Committee members is to provide volunteer leadership in fundraising and to review the goals, programs, and plans of the school. The Committee also helps the School to develop new initiatives to further education, research, and service in public policy.

Committee members provide assistance to increase private support by identifying prospective donors and helping the school to develop relationships with them. Committee members work with the Dean, other volunteers, and school staff to help identify and contact individuals who are interested in its programs.


Martin J. Allen, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus, Gerald R. Ford Foundation
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Peter F. Borish (AB ’81, MPP ’82)
Chairman and CEO, Computer Trading Corporation
New York, New York
Susan C. Brown (AB ’63)
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Pamela L. Carter (MSW ’73)
President, Cummins Distribution Business
Columbus, Indiana
Martha Darling
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Deborah I. Dingell
President, D2 Strategies
Washington, District of Columbia
Michael G. Ford
Associate Dean for Campus Life, Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Elizabeth (Liz) R. Haar, President & CEO
Accident Fund Holdings, Inc.
Lansing, Michigan
James P. Hackett (AB ’77)
President & CEO, Steelcase Inc.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Lyman Hamilton
Retired Chairman, ITT
Carmel, California
James B. Hudak (MPP ’71), Committee Chair
CEO, Paradigm Management Services
Walnut Creek, California
Hendrik (Hank) G. Meijer (AB ’73)
Co-Chairman and CEO, Meijer, Inc.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Margaret Ann (Ranny) Riecker
Trustee, The Harry A. and Margaret D. Towsley Foundation
President, Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow Foundation
Midland, Michigan
John J. H. (Joe) Schwarz, M.D. (AB ’59)
Former Member of Congress
Practicing Physician
Battle Creek, Michigan
Allen L. Sinai (AB ’61)
President & Chief Global Economist, Decision Economics
New York, New York
Michael B. Staebler (JD ’69)
Attorney, Pepper Hamilton LLP
Detroit, Michigan
Adarsh P. Trehan (AM ’65)
McLean, Virginia
Mitch Vernick (MPP ’78)
Business Consultant
Austin, Texas
Sanford Weill
Chairman Emeritus, Citigroup Inc.
New York, New York