International Policy Center Home Page

The 2011 Henry Russel Lecture

Date & time

Mar 8, 2011, 4:00 pm-12:00 am EST


Three faculty members will receive the Henry Russel Award. This award is presented annually to recognize mid-career faculty who have demonstrated an impressive record of accomplishment in scholarship and/or creativity, as well as their conspicuous ability as a teacher. The Henry Russel Award is meant to acknowledge their accomplishments and encourage their potential for even more notable achievements in the future that benefit the university community.

The 2011 Henry Russel Award recipients are:

Anthony Grbic, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

David J. Harding, Associate Professor of Sociology; Associate Professor of Public Policy; Research Associate Professor, Institute for Social Research

Anna M. Michalak, Frank and Brooke Transue Faculty Scholar and Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Associate Professor of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences

About the lecture:

Expanding the moral imagination: ancient insights on modern media from the lost books of Herculaneum

Richard Janko, Gerald F. Else Collegiate Professor of Classical Studies, has been selected as the Henry Russel Lecturer for 2011. Considered one of the University's highest honors for a senior member of its active faculty, the Henry Russel Lectureship is awarded annually in recognition of a scholar's exceptional achievements in research, scholarship and/or creative endeavors, and an outstanding record of teaching, mentoring, and service.

Read more: