International Policy Center Home Page

Greetings from the Dean

October 9, 2013

As I write this our government remains partially shut down. I am reminded of President Ford’s insistence that reaching across the aisle is central to the democratic process–a position echoed by U.S. Senator Olympia Snowe during her 2013 Citi Foundation Lecture in September. Throughout the past year we have celebrated and honored the legacy of President Ford, who would have been 100 on July 14. From last fall’s tribute to First Lady Betty Ford and Gen. Brent Scowcroft’s dedication of our bronze statue of President Ford; to Paul O’Neill’s2013 Commencement address and an evening ofpolicy reflections with Dr. Henry Kissinger in New York: the Ford School has been energized by great events, guests, and friends. We’re already looking forward to continuing the celebration as the school’s centennial approaches in 2014. We’ll keep you updated on special guests and events, including the Centennial Reunion Weekendfrom Oct. 31-Nov. 1, 2014. I hope you can join us.

I am delighted to share that this June I became president of the Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs (APSIA) after serving two years as vice president. I am thrilled about this new challenge and my current focus is on leading the search for APSIA’s new executive director. My broader vision, however, is to help strengthen international affairs education by more fully engaging the growing global membership of this 24-year-old organization and expanding our outreach both in the United States and abroad.

We are also celebrating the arrival of several new faces at the Ford School. In August, Susan Guindi joined us as the new director of Student and Academic Services, and Sharon Maccini became the new director of our BA program in July. And we’re delighted to welcome Anmol Chaddha, Catherine Hausman, Joshua Hausman–who was recently awarded the 2013 Allan Nevins Prize in American Economic History–Mara Ostfeld, and Joy Rohde to the Ford School faculty. We’re excited to have them with us.

More great faculty news appears in this edition of ‘the Ford School feed’: in September, Robert Axelrod was presented the 2013 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science. The Skytte Prize is one of the most prestigious awards in political science and recognizes outstanding scholars for their contribution to the discipline. On October 17, Marina Whitman will be inducted into the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame for her service and accomplishments, which have significantly advanced the status of women. Congratulations, Bob and Marina!

In this edition you’ll meet Michelle Jones, our newest Diplomat in Residence. You’ll also meet the winners of the centennial button contest. Find out how to nominate yourself for the Ford School Alumni Board and meet Paul Weech (MPP ’81), executive vice president of policy and member engagement for the Housing Partnership Network and the board’s newest chair. And learn how to become one of our Alumni in Residence, a fantastic way to connect with students.

There’s much more inside. Please stay in touch and thank you for your commitment to the Ford School.


Susan M. Collins
Joan and Sanford Weill Dean of Public Policy