International Policy Center Home Page

Ford School students to be honored as CEW+ Scholars

October 27, 2021

The Center for the Education of Women (CEW+) will honor seven Ford School master’s students at the 2021 Center for the Education of Women Virtual Awards Celebration. The event celebrates students who have persevered, despite experiencing an interruption in their education, being underrepresented in STEM fields, or providing care for a minor, older adult, or disabled adult.

“CEW+ Scholars and Fellows show remarkable resilience as they juggle the demands of an elite institution with existing family and work responsibilities,” the event program reads. Along with generous scholarships, scholars and fellows also receive support through assistance with scholarship applications and financial aid, programming and events tailored for nontraditional students, dedicated staff members who create programs and outreach to meet the emerging needs of the community, and responsive holistic career and education during their time as students.

Three Ford School students will be receiving the Margaret Dow Towsley Scholarship: Huda Bashir (MPP/MPH ‘23), for her dedication to public health; Laura Meyer (LSA ‘16, MPP ‘23), for her commitment to gender and racial equity; and Emily Tuesday (MPA ‘22), for her pediatric cancer advocacy.

CEW+ is awarding Katelyn Catino (MPP ‘23) with the American Association of University Women-Ann Arbor Branch: Used Book Sale Scholarship. Catino is passionate about creating educational opportunities for all.

Jessica Liang (MPP/MBA ‘23) will receive the Collegiate Sorosis Foundation Scholarship, honoring her leadership and dedication to community-building. 

The Beatrice Kahn Scholarship will be awarded to Harrison Parker (MPP/MSW ‘24) for his drive to support and help traditionally marginalized communities.

Kristy Pritzl (MPA ‘22) is receiving the Hall-McCannell Scholarship. She is motivated by finding solutions to society's most pressing problems and hopes to focus on issues of mass incarceration upon graduation.

For more information about the CEW+ Awards and events, please visit this website.