International Policy Center Home Page

Ford School announces 2024 PPIA Junior Summer Institute fellows

March 12, 2024

Twenty-four undergraduate students from across the U.S. will move to Ann Arbor for an intensive seven-week summer program that focuses on preparing them for graduate programs in public policy and international affairs. For over four decades, the Ford School has hosted a Public Policy and International Affairs (PPIA) Junior Summer Institute. Students will spend the summer in and out of the classroom, honing communication and quantitative reasoning skills, and learning about public policy issues from researchers and practitioners. Fellowship alumni receive application fee waivers and additional scholarships when applying to public and international affairs programs in the PPIA Graduate School Consortium, comprised of over 50 participating graduate institutions across the U.S.

"The Ford School is delighted to partner with PPIA in welcoming the next generation dedicated to the public good,” says Dustin Castro, associate director of recruiting & admissions at the Ford School. “For well over 40 years, the Ford School has welcomed promising and talented students from across the United States. The PPIA JSI Fellowship is purpose-built to nurture interests in public policy and international affairs while also providing the skills necessary to be competitive applicants for graduate school.”

In total, 149 fellows were selected based on merit and their previous, current, and stated dedication to public service. They will participate at six university campuses.

The Ford School’s senior recruiting coordinator Logan Corey said, “We're thrilled to welcome our cohort of 2024 PPIA JSI fellows to the Ford School! I was deeply impressed with our students' passion for positive change and uplifting underrepresented voices, both inside and outside of the classroom. This summer will be an incredible experience for our fellows!”

2024 Ford School PPIA Fellows:

  • Claire Smith, Michigan State University
  • Piero Campos, Amherst College
  • Clovis Westlund, The Ohio State University
  • Kate Moe, Whitman College
  • Franco Leon, Columbia University in the City of New York
  • James Shiang, University of Connecticut
  • Louise Missome-Engohang, Eastern Michigan University
  • Pamela Alvarado, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
  • Santos Diaz, Haverford College
  • Jared Allyn, Cleveland State University
  • Alexa Gomez, Loyola Marymount University
  • Mya MacNeil, University of Rhode Island
  • Love Lundy, Spelman College
  • Brien Brennan, Duke University
  • Nazyia Dowdy-Arnold, Spelman College
  • Yamil Hernandez, Loyola University Maryland
  • Layla Harmon, Louisiana State University
  • Ed Jonhatan Jr., University of Louisville
  • Page Gray, Louisiana State University
  • Laura Lafave, Coastal Carolina University
  • Alijah Jones, Mississippi State University
  • Ahmed Alsayid, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Tony Ordoukhanian, University of California, Berkeley
  • Estelle Hackos, Eastern Michigan University

Read PPIA’s 2024 Fellowship announcement. 

Have any questions?