International Policy Center Home Page

Newly elected Alumni Board members, welcome

January 13, 2015

Ford School alumni elected six of their peers to serve on the Alumni Board and the newly elected members began their term on January 1. Those elected to serve from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2017 are: 

Taurean Brown (MPP/JD ’11)
Judge Advocate
United States Navy

Menna Demessie (PhD ’10)
Vice President of Policy Analysis and Research
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

Chris Dorle (MPP ’07)
Strong Cities, Strong Communities Fellow
Detroit Future City

Olushola Samuel (BA ’10)
Management Engineer
Henry Ford Health System

Dan Sheppard (MPP ’90)
Deputy Commissioner, Office of Primary Care and Health Systems Management 
New York State Department of Health

Lynn Vendinello (MPP ’89)
Deputy Division Director
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The Alumni Board also welcomes Joel Smith (MPP ’82), a principal with Stratus Consulting Inc., who will be completing the term of Jomo Thorne (MPP/MBA ’08), who resigned on December 31. 

Alumni Board members strive to increase the visibility of the Ford School; strengthen the school’s alumni network; and assist the school with student recruitment, career services, and alumni relations activities. Recent Alumni Board initiatives include the annual Worldwide Ford School Spirit Day events, fundraising efforts for student support, and the alumni talent coach program. 

Alumni Board members serve three-year terms and each year, six seats open for election to encourage broad alumni involvement and representation.