Ford School Committee

The Ford School Committee

Founded in 1991 to promote and increase private support for the Ford School's students, research, and policy engagement, the Committee for the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy is comprised of leaders from the public and private sectors with an interest in public policy and higher education.

Ford School Committee members provide volunteer leadership in fundraising and review the goals, programs, and plans of the school—helping to develop new initiatives that further the school's education, research, and service objectives. Committee members assist with fundraising, provide links to policymakers and policymaking arenas, and provide counsel on higher education and public policy.

Ford School Committee members

Dudley Benoit, MPP '95
Executive Vice President
Alliant Capital
Woodland Hills, California

Peter F. Borish, AB '81, MPP '82
Computer Trading Corporation
New York, New York

L. Michael Costa, MPP '82
Executive Director
California Area Agencies on Aging
Sacramento, California

Martha Darling
Retired Senior Manager
Boeing Company
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Congresswoman Deborah (Debbie) I. Dingell
U.S. House of Representatives
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Diana Farrell
Independent Board Director and Trustee of various organizations
(Urban Institute, National Bureau of Economic Research, The National
Sciences Foundation’s Committee on National Statistics, Institute for
Practical and Applied Mathematics, and eBay)
Washington, DC

David P. Fauri, PhD, AB '62, MPP '64
Professor Emeritus
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Social Work
Richmond, Virginia

Michael Fleming
Executive Director
David Bohnett Foundation
Beverly Hills, California

Michael (Mike) G. Ford
Retired Associate Director, Pro Humanitate Institute
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Elizabeth (Liz) R. Haar, BS '87
Retired EVP and President of Emerging Markets
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
Dexter, Michigan

Steve Hamp, MMP '78, Hon. LLD '02
Chair, Michigan Education Excellence Foundation
Chair, New Economy Initiative
Ann Arbor, Michigan

James (Jim) B. Hudak, MPP '71
Operating Partner
RiverGlade Capital
Napa, California

Broderick Johnson, JD '83
Executive Vice President, Public Policy
Executive Vice President, Digital Equity
NBC Universal/Comcast
New York, New York

Ann (Annie) Maxwell, MPP '02
Executive Vice President
Omidyar Network
Silicon Valley, California

Hendrik (Hank) G. Meijer, B '73
Executive Chairman
Meijer, Inc.
Grand Rapids, Michigan

Penelope (Penny) Naas, AB ’92, MPP ’93
Washington, D.C.

Philip (Phil) Power, AB '60
The Center for Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Thomas (Tom) R. Reedy
Senior Managing Partner
Dillon Kane Group LLC
Chicago, Illinois

Elizabeth (Liz) Schrayer, AB '82
Schrayer & Associates, Inc.
Washington, DC

Michael (Mike) B. Staebler, JD '69
Retired Senior Partner and Attorney at Law
Pepper Hamilton LLP
Detroit, Michigan

David Sutphen, JD ‘95
Jasper Advisors
Founder & Co-CEO
Lanham, Maryland

Margaret (Peggy) Thompson, MD '85
Retired Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine - Grand Rapids, Michigan
It is with heavy hearts that share that our friend and colleague, Peggy Thompson, passed away on Saturday, September 24th. Peggy has been an integral part of the Ford School Committee since joining the group in 2016. Peggy could always be counted on for thoughtful, calm and strategic engagement on any topic, and her warmth and kindness were ever-present. We will miss her deeply. You can read Peggy's obituary here.

Adarsh Trehan, AM '65
Retired Senior Program Analyst
U.S. Department of Commerce and Veteran Affairs
McLean, Virginia

Hardy Vieux, MPP '97, JD '97 Chief of Staff
Kids in Need of Defense (KIND),
Towsley Foundation Policymaker in Residence
Washington, DC

Sanford (Sandy) I. Weill
Chairman Emeritus, Citigroup Inc.
Sonoma, CA