Ford School BAs invited to join Phi Beta Kappa Academic Honor Society

April 5, 2010
Ten Ford School undergrads were invited to join the 2010 Class of the University of Michigan’s chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Academic Honor Society.

Seniors Hannah Clark, Evgeny Magidenko, Jonathan Newman, Irine Sorser, Sonya Suter, Gabriel Tourek, Ashley Weech, Angela Wyse, Zachary Zucker, and Erica Zviklin were invited to join the society and attend its 102nd Annual Initiation Program. The 2010 inductees join two other Ford School seniors, Lesley Plimpton and Rochelle-Leigh Rosenberg, who were inducted in the 2009 class.

Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776, is the oldest scholastic honorary society in America. Less than ten percent of each year's graduating seniors and a very few juniors of the highest scholastic ranking may be invited to join Phi Beta Kappa. Invitations to membership take into account achievement in the liberal arts as indicated by a student's cumulative grade point average, strength of curriculum, demonstrated proficiency in foreign language and mathematics, and other factors.