Diversity Center announces 2010-2011 grant recipients

July 14, 2010

The Center for Public Policy in Diverse Societies issued its inaugural call for proposals in March for projects that would contribute to academic research on diversity and/or enrich the broader community's engagement with issues of diversity. Submissions were received from a wide variety of academic and non-academic units including: Political Science, Sociology, School of Natural Resources, Public Health, School of Education, Social Work, Anthropology, Psychology, University Development, Michigan Student Affairs, and the Migrant and Immigrant Awareness student group.

The Diversity Center selected two program grant recipients and five research grant recipients for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Program Grant Recipients

Diversity Talks
This seminar series, lead by Ford School MPP/MPA students, will supplement existing Ford School diversity-relevant curriculum. It will meet monthly to discuss issues of race, underserved communities of color, and public policy.

Diversity Preparation for the Non-profit Sector: The Interplay of Interculturalism and Philanthropy
Grant monies will support this existing program jointly sponsored by the Office of University Development and the Office of Intergroup Relations.

Research Grant Recipients

"Universal and Exclusive Rights: Intellectual Property, Policy and Contention in Canada"
Erica Blom, joint PhD Candidate in Public Policy and Sociology

"The Fathers and Sons Program Policy Study"
Cleopatra Caldwell, Associate Professor Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health, and Co-Associate Director Program for Research on Black Americans

"Merit and Diversity in Graduate Admissions: Examining Dynamics of Faculty Judgment Across Four Disciplines"
Julie Posselt, Doctoral candidate in the Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education

"The Political Implications of Social Capital"
Ashley Reid, Doctoral Candidate in Public Policy and Political Science

"Racial Appeals by African-American Candidates"
LaFleur Stephens, Doctoral Candidate in Public Policy and Political Science