Barry Rabe named 2011 Arthur F. Thurnau Professor

February 18, 2011

Barry Rabe was named one of six 2011 recipients of the prestigious Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship. The award, confirmed by the University of Michigan Board of Regents yesterday, honors just five or six faculty members each year for "outstanding contributions to undergraduate education."

Rabe—who also holds appointments College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and the School of Natural Resources and Environment—was recognized for his commitment to enhancing and expanding undergraduate academic opportunities.

In 2002 Rabe created the LSA's Program in the Environment (PitE), one of the fastest growing undergraduate offerings, attracting more than 400 students since its launch. Rabe has used lessons from PitE to advise other units on best practices for creating new undergraduate programs and courses. He has also worked to recruit new practitioners and has taught a variety of undergraduate courses himself. One student has described Rabe as "a dynamic synthesis of relevant historical content and contemporary case studies."

Other 2011 recipients include Amy Cohn, Stephen DeBacker, Mika LaVaque-Manty, Melanie Sanford, and Colleen Seifert. The Thurnau Professorship program is, as described by the Office of the Provost, designed to honor those tenured faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students.

Thurnau Professors retain this title for their entire U-M career and receive $20,000 to support teaching activities such as travel, books, equipment, and graduate student support.

[Learn more about the Thurnau Professorship program and past recipients.]