Jan Svejnar elected to International Economic Association's Executive Committee

July 19, 2011

Jan Svejnar was elected to a three-year term on the Executive Committee of the International Economic Association (IEA). Elections for this 15-member committee were held at the IEA's 16th Congress held in Beijing, China.

The International Economic Association is a non-governmental organization of more than 60 national academic organizations dedicated to the sharing of ideas between economists from different countries. Executive Committee members are leaders in their field and help select the research topics for annual conferences and other special projects. The IEA's president is generally an economist of outstanding distinction; the president-elect, Columbia University's Joseph E. Stiglitz, won the 2001 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.