OVPR awards 3 Ford School staff members for research, leadership

April 26, 2024

The Office of the Vice President for Research will recognize three of the Ford School's research center staff—Jasmina Camo-Biogradlija (Education Policy Initiative), Molly Kleinman (Science, Technology and Public Policy program), and Kyle S. Kwaiser (Education Policy Initiative)—for their outstanding service and leadership in advancing research, scholarship, and creative practice. OVPR launched its Research Staff Recognition Awards in 2001 to honor the contributions and skills of staff actively engaged in catalyzing, supporting and safeguarding U-M research activity.

Jasmina Camo-Biogradlija, senior project manager, Education Policy Initiative received the Research Study Coordinator/Manager Staff Recognition Award. 

Camo-Biogradlija serves as the liaison to state agencies and works with government and non-profit partners on identifying research priorities, collecting and analyzing data, and presenting findings. Prior to her work with EPI, she worked as a senior research associate focused on education and workforce with Public Policy Associates, Inc. in Lansing, MI. She holds a Master of Public Policy from the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy at the University of Michigan and a PhD in education from Eastern Michigan University.

“Jasmina routinely goes above and beyond to deliver on work that helps fulfill the broader mission of the University of Michigan. ... her work touches millions of students in Michigan and beyond. She is highly deserving of this recognition.” - Christina Weiland

Molly Kleinman, managing director, Science, Technology and Public Policy program received the Research Staff Leadership Recognition Award.

Kleinman oversees the day-to-day management and provides strategic direction for STPP. She brings over 15 years of experience across several areas of higher education, with much of her work centering on technology policy, educational technology, and intellectual property. She also has an interest in urban and transportation policy; she is a past chair of the Ann Arbor Transportation Commission, serves as an elected trustee of the Ann Arbor District Library, and co-hosts the Ann Arbor AF podcast. Kleinman received her Ph.D. in Higher Education Policy from the University of Michigan Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education, her M.S. in Information from the University of Michigan School of Information, and her B.A. in English and Gender Studies from Bryn Mawr College. Read more about Kleinman here. 

“Her creativity, empathy, values-based approach to leadership, and ability to identify opportunities and take calculated risks, make her an inspiring leader for the STPP community, a trusted interlocutor with our community partners and other outside constituencies, and a powerful, evidence-based public advocate for reasoned science and technology policy.” - Shobita Parthasarathy

Kyle S. Kwaiser, data architect/manager, Education Policy Initiative, received the Research Data Management and Analysis Staff Recognition Award.

As the Senior Data Architect for the Michigan Education Data Center, Kwaiser's key focus is to keep the data and metadata flowing from the State of Michigan to MERI researchers. He supports the MEDC website, MEDC's research application portal, its data warehouse and the integration of all three. Read more about Kwaiser's work here. 

“...Kyle has done a fantastic job in making our data operation truly professional, owing to his unique set of skills and personal qualities. He has considerable technical skills but, perhaps more importantly, he is able to communicate effectively with a very wide range of staff and stakeholders...” - Brian A. Jacob 

This year’s 15 recipients—representing seven U-M schools, colleges and units—will be recognized June 6 as part of the annual Research Staff Recognition Awards ceremony at University Hall in the Alexander G. Ruthven Building.

“The remarkable efforts and dedication of our research staff are essential to the vitality and progress of the University of Michigan’s diverse research landscape,” said Arthur Lupia, interim vice president for research and innovation. “Their passion and expertise enhance our current projects, and make future innovation and scholarly achievement possible. I congratulate this year’s honorees for setting an extraordinary example of excellence in their fields.”


Excerpted from a story published in the University Record, by Wendy Sutton, Office of the Vice President for Research