Staff honored by their Ford School peers for selflessness, integrity, and jubilance 

June 29, 2023

Congratulations to the three recipients of the 2023 Staff Recognition Awards! Amy Flanagan from Student & Academic Services, DMACS Project Lead Sharon Sand, and Kirby Jewell from the Business and Grants Office received their accolades at the annual Ford School staff outing.

Flanagan is the BA program coordinator, providing support for BA students, minor students and the BA program faculty director. Citing her “ability to serve as a sounding board, problem solver, and ongoing supportive mentor for a significant number of our students,” she was praised for making a huge difference in students' lives and success. “Her individualized, tailored approach to assisting and supporting our students facing mental health, economic, or family crises exemplifies her commitment to the well-being and success of each person in our student community.”

“For introducing new students to community engaged work in a manner that demonstrates respect for all involved, and supporting their growth as professionals, Sand, Detroit Metro Area Communities Study (DMACS) Project Lead, was lauded by her colleagues. As an example of her dedication to cross-unit efforts within the University, she recently organized a meeting with faculty from the School of Social Work and the Poverty Solutions to better understand how their survey data could measure disability and support research they were doing on the experiences of people with disabilities in Michigan.

“Quietly getting things done; seeing a problem and taking care of it in the most effective way - explaining their thought-process and creating a welcoming environment for questions,” are among the plaudits for Grants & Research Specialist Jewell. “Her value to the Ford School is immeasurable,” said another nominator. Despite the challenges of issues around proposal submissions and grant management, “she is 100% consistent in responding with a positive, welcoming, encouraging attitude.” 

Congratulations again, and thank you for your distinguished contributions to the Ford School!